Cast-Away Eve

Oh, how time flies.The last time we spoke, Jack was still in the hospital. He was casted from armpit to toes and was just showing signs of an appetite and some personality. And here we are, the night before his cast comes off. Can you believe it? It has been 3 months.

I’m sorry that I didn’t write much about the cast period. It was busy in the Roettgers’s house. First of all, I started a new job. I am still in the same industry, but with quite different responsibilities. I would definitely call it a promotion. I am really enjoying my new-found lack of free time during the day (surprisingly).

And then there was Christmas. Not my favorite time of year but I did try a little harder this year since Jack is starting to get into it. He loved the presents (still loves them – spoiled) and really enjoyed laying under the Christmas tree and looking up at the lights. You really have to look at unconventional ways to entertain a two-year old when they are in a fill spica cast.

The new year started with a bang….the same bang as the last year…a big push to finish the kitchen. Matt is working really hard on the finishing touches and you should see the concrete countertops he has created (if he hasn’t shown you the photos already). He is very proud of them, as he should be. They look great!

And all this time, Jack has been a great little boy. He has shown a lot of patience for just a little boy (he didn’t get the from me…shocker), and he has really worked on his arm. He can look at his target, turn his head and throw a stuffed baseball blindly into Matt’s hands about 80% of the time. I know I am quite partial to thinking that he is an incredible little boy, but it is quite impressive to see. Maybe I’ll put a video on the blog one day.

So, hopefully his obsession with Mickey Mouse movies and Mickey Mouse Clubhouse episodes will decrease a little once he is out of his cast and able to move around. There are only so many times that I can watch Mickey Mouse and the Three Musketeers in a lifetime and I passed that number about a month ago.

Well, the next time I publish a post, Jack will be out of his cast. He will be a little stiff for about a week or so and probably won’t be doing much of anything, but I will keep you all updated on all his amazing happenings. And hopefully a little more often than lately as well.

Until next time, I will leave you with a photo from after tonight’s towel bathing.

ABM_1392869567[1]

This entry was posted in Jack Update by Kaytee. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kaytee

I am a food scientist by training and a mom by experiment. My beautiful son, Jack was born on November 7, 2011 with a birth defect called Left-Side Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia (CDH). My goal is to reach out to other families dealing with the same or similar hardships as well as keep everyone updated on Jack's development.

3 thoughts on “Cast-Away Eve

  1. You and Matthew are amazing and it definitely shows with how Jack has grown in to such a fun, handsome and well behaved little boy. I cannot wait to hold him again, if I can get out of some work I want to try and come over to Childrens. You give him a big kiss and hug for me. I love you all so much.

  2. Aunt Donna:

    KayTee, Matt and Jack,,what a beautiful family and I know the whole family can’t wait until Jack is up and about with his cousins.
    May God continue to watch over you and bless you. All 3 of you are in my prayers. Hope to see all of you real soon. Love ya!!!!

What do you think?

